Stuart Neville Wins A Los Angeles Times Book Prize

LA Times Book Prize LogoNorther Irish writer, Stuart Neville has won a Los Angles Times Book Prize in the Mystery / Thriller category for his novel, Ghosts Of Belfast (Published as The Twelve in the UK & Ireland).

He beat off competition from Megan Abbott, David Ellis, Attica Locke (recently nominated for the Orange Book prize) and Val McDermid.

The full list of category winners are below:

Biography: Linda Gordon, Dorothea Lange: A Life Beyond Limits
Current Interest: Dave Eggers, Zeitoun
Fiction: Rafael Yglesias, A Happy Marriage
Art Seidenbaum Award for First Fiction: Philipp Meyer, American Rust
Graphic Novel: David Mazzucchelli, Asterios Polyp
History: Kevin Starr, Golden Dreams: California in an Age of Abundance 1950 – 1963
Mystery/Thriller: Stuart Neville, The Ghosts of Belfast
Poetry: Brenda Hillman, Practical Water
Science and Technology: Graham Farmelo, The Strangest Man: The Hidden Life of Paul Dirac, Mystic of the Atom
Young Adult Literature: Elizabeth Partridge, Marching for Freedom: Walk Together Children and Don’t You Grow Weary
Robert Kirsch Award: Evan S. Connell
Innovator’s Award: Dave Eggers