2011 Internation IMPAC Award Shortlist Announced

Three Irish Authors in Short List for IMPAC10 novels have been shortlisted for the International IMPAC DUBLIN Literary Award, from a total of 162 novels nominated by 166 public library systems in 126 cities worldwide. The award offers one of the largest prizes in the literary world, worth a staggering €100,000 .

For the first time, the shortlist includes novels by three Irish authors; Let the Great World Spin by Colum McCann, Brooklyn by Colm Toibín and Love and Summer by William Trevor.

The Lord Mayor of Dublin Gerry Breen, Patron of the Award, officially confirmed the titles on this year’s shortlist, nominated by public libraries in Australia, Barbados, Belgium, Canada, England, Germany, Greece, Ireland, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Scotland, South Africa, Switzerland, and the USA. Three Australian authors have also been short listed – David Malouf, Craig Silvey and Evie Wyld.

Both David Malouf (Remembering Babylon) and Colm Toibín (The Master) are previous winners of the award in 1996 and 2006 respectively. In all there are 5 previous winners on the 2011 longlist; the others are Orhan Pamuk, Tahar Ben Jalloun and Javier Marias.

‘It’s a wonderful coincidence that so shortly after Dublin being awarded UNESCO City of Literature status, three of the ten novels on the IMPAC DUBLIN Award shortlist should be by Irish authors,’ said Breen. ‘I wish all the shortlisted authors well and remind Dubliners that the shortlisted novels are all available to borrow from Dublin City public libraries, so there is time to read them all and pick your own favourite, between now and 15 June when I announce the Award winner.’

The International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award is managed by Dublin City Libraries, on behalf of Dublin City Council. It is sponsored by IMPAC, an international management productivity company with its European headquarters in Dublin.

The Award is presented annually with the objective of promoting excellence in world literature. It is open to novels written in any language and by authors of any nationality, provided the work has been published in English or English translation in the specified time period as outlined in the rules and conditions for the year. Nominations are submitted by library systems in major cities throughout the world.

Recent previous winners of the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award include, The Twin by Gerbrand Bakker (2010) Man Gone Down by Michael Thomas (2009), De Niro’s Game by Rawi Hage (2008), and Out Stealing Horses by Per Petterson (2007)

The judges for 2011 are John Boyne, Susan Bassnett, Tessa Hadley, Nancy Huston, Michael Hofmann and the panel is chaired by Hon. Eugene R. Sullivan.

The full shortlist of titles is below:
Galore by Michael Crummey (Canadian). Doubleday Canada
The Lacuna by Barbara Kingsolver (American). Faber & Faber, HarperCollins, USA
The Vagrants by Yiyn Li (Chinese / American) Random House, USA
Ransom by David Malouf (Australian) Random House Australia
Let the Great World Spin by Colum McCann (Irish) Bloomsbury, UK, Random House, USA
Little Bird of Heaven by Joyce Carol Oates (American) Ecco Press, USA
Jasper Jones by Craig Silvey (Australian) Allen & Unwin
Brooklyn by Colm Toibín (Irish) Viking UK, Scribner, USA
Love and Summer by William Trevor (Irish) Viking, UK
After the Fire, a Still, Small Voice by Evie Wyld (Australian) Pantheon Books, USA