And The Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Award 2011 Winners Are

This year’s Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards marked a victory for UK publishers and their Irish based imprints with only O’Brien Press, who recently acquired Brandon Books, among the native houses to win a prize.

Now in its sixth year, the awards nevertheless saw some 33.000 members of the Irish reading public cast their votes for the favourite titles and Nobel Laureate Seamus Heaney presented with the Bob Hughes Lifetime Achievement Award by President Michael D. Higgins.

Despite the poor showing of Irish publishers, Irish authors did well, with winners including film director Neil Jordan, Irish Times journalist Belinda McKeon, celebrity chef Rachel Allen, cycling star Nicholas Roche and popular fiction author Sheila O’ Flanagan, crime author Alan Glynn and children’s authors Anna Carey and Chris Judge.

UK newspaper columnist Caitlin Moran won The John Murray Show Listeners’ Choice Award for her comic memoir, How to be a Woman.

The Crannóg Bookshop in Cavan won the award for ‘Bord Gáis Energy Irish Bookshop of the Year’

RTÉ Television will be broadcasting the highlights of the ‘Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards’ on RTÉ One on Thursday 24 November 2011, at 10.45pm. This programme will showcase one of the biggest celebrations of Irish books and writing with many of our most celebrated and loved authors in attendance.

The full list of winners is below:

The Hughes & Hughes Irish Novel of the Year:
Mistaken by Neil Jordan (John Murray)

RTÉ Radio 1’s The John Murray Show Listeners’ Choice Award:
How to be a Woman by Caitlin Moran (Ebury)

The Ireland AM Irish Crime Fiction Book of the Year:
Bloodland by Alan Glynn (Faber)

The Argosy Irish Non-Fiction Book of the Year:
Easy Meals by Rachel Allen (Collins)

Eason Irish Popular Fiction Book of the Year:
All For You by Sheila O’Flanagan (Headline)

Irish Sports Book of the Year:
Inside the Peloton by Nicolas Roche (Transworld Ireland)

Bord Gáis Energy Irish Bookshop of the Year:
• Crannóg Bookshop, Cavan town

Sunday Independent Best Irish Newcomer of the Year:
Solace by Belinda McKeon (Picador)

International Education Services Best Irish Published Book of the Year:
Connemara: A Little Gaelic Kingdom by Tim Robinson (Penguin Ireland)

Specsavers Irish Children’s Book of the Year:
The Lonely Beast by Chris Judge (Andersen Press)

The Real Rebecca by Anna Carey (O’Brien)